ISTQB® Certified Tester AL (Advanced Level)

Home » ISTQB® Int’l Software Testing Qualification Board » ISTQB® Certified Tester » ISTQB® Certified Tester AL (Advanced Level)

Remote Exams Available

Flexible Appointments – Free changes & cancellations – No installation required

The Advanced Level qualification is aimed at professionals who have experience in software testing and would like to strengthen their knowledge.

Logo of the ISTQB - International Software Testing Qualifications Board

Today software projects demand that the role of the software tester and the role of a software developer are separated – Job specialisation is therefore inevitable.

The Advanced Level has three Syllabi within the Core part:

  • Test Manager (CTAL-TM)
  • Test Analyst (CTAL-TA) und
  • Technical Test Analyst (CTAL-TTA)

The Advanced Level Modules are independent and based on the Foundation Level Certificate. Professional testers choose their module according to their professional field and the role they want a deeper understanding or want to work in the future.

Syllabus Version

The ISTQB has released a new syllabus version for CTAL-TA (Test Analyst) & CTAL-TTA (Technical Test Analyst). There is currently a transition period, during which candidates have the choice between the older (2012) syllabus version and the newly-relaseed (2019) version.

Until 4th February 2021 candidates have the choice between syllabus versions, regardless of examination language. after this point, examinations in English will only be available according to the new syllabus.

Examinations in other languages will remain available under both syllabus versions until 4th August 2021. After this date, CTAL-TA and CTAL-TTA examinations will only available according to the new syllabus version.

In the case of CTAL-TA (Test Analyst), the new syllabus also brings a reduction in the length and duration of the examination. You will find more information on exam formats under Exam Procedures.


Certificate Validity

The Advanced Level certificate has a lifelong validity.


The contents of the Foundation and Advanced Level syllabus are defined in the Certified Tester Curriculum. The ISTQB Certified Tester Foundation Level is a necessary prerequisite for the Advanced Level ISTQB certificates.

Exam Format


Examination Fee

Available Here: Examination Fees

Exam Preparation

Please use the latest version of the curriculum and ISTQB Glossary for the exam preparation.

To prepare for your ISTQB Certified Tester exam you have a choice of Training Providers as well as a body of official Self-Study literature to use individually or in addition to a training.